The CW renews the entire Arrowverse for another season

Arrow -- "Emerald Archer" -- Image Number: AR712B_0419b -- Pictured (L-R): Echo Kellum as Curtis Holt/Mr. Terrific, Juliana Harkavy as Dinah Drake/Black Canary and Stephen Amell as Oliver Queen/Green Arrow -- Photo: Shane Harvey/The CW -- © 2019 The CW Network, LLC. All Rights Reserved.

It’s official, The CW is bringing back the entire Arrowverse for another season.

On Thursday The CW did its usual round of early renewal announcements and renewed 10 of its series. Of course, among those were numerous DC properties.

Coming back for the 2019 – 2020 TV season will be:

  • Arrow (Season 8)
  • Black Lightning (Season 3)
  • The Flash (Season 6)
  • Legends of Tomorrow (Season 5)
  • Supergirl (Season 5)

Additional series The CW picked up include Supernatural (for its 15th season), Riverdale, Charmed, and Legacies. No word on Batwoman as of yet, but that is to be expected as the pilot is still being cast.

The renewals don’t come as a giant surprise with the Elseworlds crossover ending with a tease for Crisis on Infinite Earths. If anything felt like a possibility it was the cancellation of Arrow with Batwoman taking its place. Instead, it seems we’ll possibly have five Arrowverse shows on the air, plus Black Lightning hanging out in its own little corner.

It’ll be interesting to see if any new restrictions are placed on the Arrowverse shows with such a large slate of DC films on the docket. There have been times where the TV series have been prevented from using certain characters, so we’ll just have to wait and see what happens.