Poison Ivy wins GLAAD Award for Outstanding Comic Book

Every year the GLAAD Media Awards are meant to recognize pieces of art for their representation of the LGBTQ community. Started in 1990 by GLAAD (Gay & Lesbian Alliance Against Defamation), the awards have presented the title of Outstanding Comic Book to comics which promote that same message of inclusion. Notable past winners include Neil Gaiman’s Death: The Time of Your Life, Ed Brubaker’s Catwoman, Greg Rucka’s Detective Comics. and J. H. Williams III and W. Haden Blackman’s Batwoman.

This year for the 34th Annual GLAAD Media Awards, that honor goes to G. Willow Wilson’s Poison Ivy. The series kicked off in June of 2022 for Pride Month, and follows Poison Ivy as she travels across the country as she tries to figure out who she really is. One of its major themes has been Ivy’s relationship with Harley Quinn. By focusing so much on one of the most prominent queer relationships in comics, Poison Ivy has become a standout example of LGBTQ representation.

The full list of nominees can be seen below:

I Hate This Place (Image Comics)
Immortal X-Men (Marvel Comics)
New Mutants (Marvel Comics)
The Nice House on the Lake (DC Comics)
Poison Ivy (DC Comics)
Sins of the Black Flamingo (Image Comics)
Star Wars: Doctor Aphra (Marvel Comics)
Superman: Son of Kal-El (DC Comics)
Tim Drake: Robin (DC Comics)
Wynd: The Throne in the Sky (BOOM! Studios)

The award is just the latest mark of popularity for the series. It was recently announced that Poison Ivy is being extended from a limited series to an ongoing. With so many accolades, fans should have plenty to look forward to from G. Willow Wilson. The next issue, Poison Ivy #11, comes out April 4th.